EC&I 832 Major Project Update

Hello everyone. It is almost time to send in our major projects for the class, and I am really excited for it!

For my major project, I am incorporating digital citizenship and media literacy lessons into ELA B10 (a course that may or may not exist in a few years). I chose this course to align with digital citizenship principles because of the core themes of the course, and because ELA tends to be a subject that fits really well with deconstructing media messages.

For those who don’t know, the core themes of ELA B10 are Equity and Ethics and the World Around Us. In both of these themes, there are many ways to incorporate digital citizenship principles, which was even more clear after spending time matching the Grades 10-12 aspects of the Digital Citizenship Continuum with some of the outcomes and themes for ELA B10. As well, I started to think about other high school level courses that fit well with these concepts for the potential of cross curricular work. Health and Wellness have seemed to be the best fits because of those courses focuses on healthy relationships. This was exciting for me because I have never thought about how to have Wellness and ELA work together.

I am hoping to present a series of posts outlining how to incorporate the digital citizenship continuum into ELA B10 to be used as a guide for the future. I will start at the beginning of the semester and work through different units to show how the principles of digital citizenship can help students to reflect on the principles of digital ethics and equity, while also thinking about how digital technologies help to shape the world around them.

One thought on “EC&I 832 Major Project Update”

  1. Hi Jordan, what a great connection between ELA B10 and Digital Citizenship (perfect spot for it). I am excited to see your finished product.

    Like

Leave a comment